Slide Text

Slide Description

Slide Image

Section 1 - Title

About the Conference on Educational Access

Section 1 - Left

The 2017 Mary E. Benjamin Conference on Educational Access will address the latest Technology and Computer Science in education that will prepare students for college, careers, and life. The conference will: 

1. Address research-based instructional strategies/techniques for “integrating embedded K-8 computer science standards across multiple content areas;”

2. Discuss the social, ethical, and economic issues related to computing technology;

3. Provide opportunities for Arkansas educators to gain information on how to receive ADE Computer Science endorsement to teach computer science content;
4. Engage education faculty’s participation in professional experiences to promote the development of preservice teachers’ skills and competencies in the latest technology and computer science relevant for teaching P-12 students; 

5. Connect uses of mathematics and computer programming as tools in creating effective solutions to complex problems;

6. Facilitate discussion & networking among Arkansas and regional educators, parents, business leaders, policy makers, and philanthropists on preparing P-16 students for college and careers in computer science; and

7. Serve as clearinghouse for evidence based strategies in developing and supporting P-16 faculty and students and STEM baccalaureate majors as they purse life– long careers in science, technology, engineering, and /or mathematics disciplines.

Section 1 - Right

Why You Should Attend

  • Gain research – based  strategies and techniques for “integrating the embedded K-8 computer science standards in classroom teaching”
  • Explore job embedded opportunities for students who major in computer science
  • Network with Department of Education, Arkansas Service Cooperatives, policy makers and businesses to “foster a greater understanding of economic development for preparing a diverse workforce"
  • Earn six (6) Continuing Education Units
  • Share in the dialogue on the demand and importance of computer science teachers who are needed to teach in the delta region and across the state

Click Here to view "Asa Arkansas's Governor - Computer Science Initiative"

Technology and Computer Programming sites for your review

ARCareerED Computer Science Fact Sheet Computer Science Resources- Elementary, Middle, and Secondary

Computer Science Task Force

ETS Praxis Study Resources


Contact Us

(870) 575-7008 or 8275

The University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff is accredited by
The Higher Learning Commission: Member
North Central Association
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, Illinois 60604

Section 2 - Title

Pre-Conference Feature

Section 2 - Left


Tuesday, April 25, 2017       
Reception with Guest Presenter | 2:30 p.m.    
Location: Simon Haley Auditorium in the S.J. Parker | 1890 Extension Complex

" "Guest presenter: Patrick Riccards

Chief Communications and Strategy Officer at the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation, Patrick Riccards will speak on a topic that is of great interest and concern to all stakeholders in the state of Arkansas: the shortage, the preparation, and the placement of highly qualified math and science teachers in high need areas.  His presentation will specifically highlight how the Woodrow Wilson Teaching Fellowship is addressing and preparing the growing demands of the next generation of math and science teachers.  You do not want to miss this opportunity to learn about the Woodrow Wilson Teaching Fellowship!  

Section 2 - Right

THE PRE-CONFERENCE IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC AND THERE IS NO COST TO ATTEND. Space is limited to 100 attendees, so please contact Mrs. Kaidra Dockett at 870-575-7008 or email her; by April 20th to reserve your place at the Pre-Conference Session.

Click Here to read more about Woodrow Wilson Teaching Fellowship

Section 3 - Title

Registration & Logistics

Section 3 - Left


*Registration Open Now* 

Please complete by April  21, 2017  

Participants & Presenters $75.00 | Students $40.00

General Registration Fee for participants, presenters, and students includes all conference materials, breakfast, luncheon and refreshments.

To Register and Pay Online  (Debit/Credit Card/Check)       
Click this link "Credit/Debit/Check Conference Registration"

To Register and send your payment;  Registration Form and Fee are due by April 21, 2017
Please download, print and fill out the registration form here

UAPB employees can pay via Interdepartmental Chargeback

Please return the registration form with your Registration Fee to:
School of Education
Educational Access Registration Committee
1200 North University Drive, Mail Slot 4927
Pine Bluff, Arkansas 71601

Section 3 - Right


STEM Conference Center

Location: University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff Campus
Corner of Watson Blvd and L.A. "Prexy" Davis Drive

Section 4 - Title

Schedule At-A-Glance

Section 4 - Left

Keynote Speakers

Anthony Owen
Anthony Owen serves as Arkansas’s State Director of Computer Science, a position created at the request of Governor Asa Hutchinson and housed within the Arkansas Department of Education. From 2011 until July 2015, he served as ADE’s K-12 Mathematics and Computer Science Curriculum Specialist. Anthony received a Bachelor’s of Science in mathematics with a double minor in education and computer science and a M.S.E. in Educational Leadership both from Henderson State University in Arkadelphia, Arkansas. He received a Juris Doctorate from the U.A.L.R. Bowen School of Law in 2013 and was admitted to the Arkansas Bar in 2014.

Dr. Ivy Pfeffer
Dr. Ivy Pfeffer is the Assistant Commissioner for Educator Effectiveness and Licensure for the Arkansas Department of Education. She earned a Bachelor of Science in Education in Spanish from Arkansas State University at Jonesboro and a Master of Science in Education in Integrated Technology in the Classroom from Walden University in Minneapolis, MN. She completed the Educational Leadership principal certification from ASU in 2006 and a specialist degree in Educational Leadership from ASU in 2012. She holds a superintendent certification. Pfeffer recently completed a Doctor of Education in School Leadership from Arkansas Tech University at Russellville.

Section 4 - Right

Schedule At-A-Glance

7:30 A.M.   – 8:00 A.M     | REGISTRATION

8:00 A.M.   – 9:35 A.M.    | PLENARY SESSION

9:35 A.M.   – 9:45 A.M.    | BREAK

9:45 A.M.   – 10:55 A.M.  | WORKSHOPS - SESSION I

10:55 A.M. – 11:00 A.M.  | BREAK

11:00 A.M. – 11:55 A.M.  | WORKSHOPS – SESSION II

11:55 A.M. – 12:45 P.M.  | LUNCHEON

12:45 P.M.  – 1:50 P.M.    | PANEL

1:50 P.M.    – 1:55 P.M.    | BREAK

1:55 P.M.    – 3:00 P.M.    | WORKSHOPS – SESSION III

3:05 P.M.    – 4:00 P.M.    | CLOSING SESSION

Section 5 - Title

Section 5 - Left

Section 5 - Right