School Name

Department Name

Main Content


NOAA Student Scholarship  

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is pleased to announce the availability of scholarships for undergraduate students majoring in disciplines related to oceanic and atmospheric science, research, or technology, and supportive of the purposes of NOAA’s programs and mission. Over 100 students are selected each year for participation in the Ernest F. Hollings (Hollings) and Educational Partnership Program (EPP) scholarship programs. These scholarships include support for two years of undergraduate study and summer internship opportunities at NOAAfacilities across the country. Learn More

CS-Hach Land Grant Scholars (Two awards at $10,000 each)

This scholarship is given annually to two student that meet the following; (i) each Scholar must maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 out of 4.0 (or its equivalent); each Scholar must be, and continue to be enrolled as a full-time undergraduate student at the University with a declared major in chemistry; and each Scholar must demonstrate a commitment to become a high school chemistry teacher, (ii) each Scholar must either be a U.S. citizen or a lawful permanent resident of the United States, (iii) each Scholar must agree to submit a brief annual written statement to the Donor describing their career status for the first five years following graduation, (iv)  in selecting between equally-qualified candidates for the Scholarships, the University shall give preference to students with demonstrated financial need, (v) the University shall make its selections in accordance with applicable governing law and, in any event, without regard to gender, color, race, creed or national origin, (vi)  if for any reason, the University is unable to fill the scholarship spots in any given year, the Scholarship funds shall be held toward the following academic year's Scholarships and (vii) the Scholarship funds shall be used for tuition, books, lab fees or other appropriate education expenses.

NOTE: The Scholarships shall each be for $10,000 per year. As long as Scholars continue to meet the eligibility requirements spelled out in Sections (i) to (iii) of this Agreement, Scholars may renew the Scholarships until such time as they complete the necessary course-work to obtain their undergraduate chemistry degree and teacher's certification.

Russell T. Bennett Scholarship ($670)

This scholarship is given annually to a student in the Department of Chemistry.  This student must have maintained a GPA of 3.0 or above in their major area and have demonstrated outstanding qualities of leadership, good citizenship and demonstrates outstanding professional promise.

Odail Thorns, Sr. Scholarship (Three awards @ $1,942 each)

This scholarship is provided perpetually through a gift from Mr. Odail Thorns, Jr., in memory of his late father.  The recipient of this scholarship will be a sophomore, junior or senior level student pursuing a degree from the School of Science and Technology majoring in Chemistry with a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0.  The proceeds will be used for required tuition, fees, textbooks and supplies.

William Henry and Willie Louie Daniels Scholarship (Three awards @ $1,396 each)

Recipients must be full-time students who are from culturally and financially underprivileged neighborhoods and/or communities, possess a 3.0 GPA or better, must demonstrate an interest in campus activities, have a history of helping others and exhibit leadership potential by participating in student government and/or fraternal organizations.  The scholarship will be used to pay for tuition, textbooks, supplies and fees.  Priority will be given to sophomore or junior students majoring in Mathematics, Computer Science, Biology (Pre-Med) or Chemistry.  The recipient shall maintain the scholarship until their     completion of their academic program.  If the recipient ceases to make reasonable progress toward completion of the academic program or be regularly enrolled full-time at the University, the scholarship will be forfeited.

Vinnie Willingham Lee Award ($474)

The recipient of this scholarship   must be a junior or senior having an overall GPA of 3.0 and must be or have been involved in a volunteer service or civic engagement.  Chemistry scholarship awarded even years and Physics scholarship awarded odd years.

Larry B. Cooper Scholarship ($1,000)

The recipient of this scholarship must be a STEM student having earned 30 semester hours majoring in Math, Physics, Computer Science or Engineering. The student should exhibit good citizenship and demonstrate professional promise. Only those students with a 3.0 GPA or better will be considered. Alumaffairs-ScholarshipApp.pdf


Department of Chemistry and Physics
University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff | 1200 N. University Drive, Mail Slot 4941 | Pine Bluff, Arkansas 71603
Dr. Richard Walker, Interim Chairperson | (870) 575-8894