School Name

Department Name

Tab Content - One

Curriculum

The Department of Curriculum and Instruction has as its major function the professional preparation of licensed teachers at the early childhood, middle and secondary levels.  The programs lead to the Bachelor of Science degree and Master of Education degree.   To meet and carry out these functions, the department offers a strong Teacher Education Preparation Program recognized by the Arkansas Department of Education, the Arkansas Department of Higher Education and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), now its called CAEP. Additionally the department offers a non-licensure degree program in Rehabilitation Studies and a Special Education Endorsement Program as well.

Programs are being revised due to Arkansas Department of Education Teacher Licenses.  Teacher Licenses have changed.  Early Childhood Education, PK-4 grades, will no longer be in effect beginning Fall 2015, however, Elementary Education, K-6 grades, will return.  Special Education as an undergraduate program will become active in Fall 2015.  Middle Childhood Education, Grades 4-8, will allow an individual to choose two areas of concentrations from Language Arts, Social Studies, Math, and Science.

Programs:

Early Childhood Education (License being phased out)
Elementary Education, K-6 (Beginning Fall 2015)
Middle Level Education
Secondary Education
Special Education
Rehabilitative Services

Graduate Education
Master of Arts in Teaching
Master of Education in Secondary Education
Master of Early Childhood Education
Master of Special Education Endorsement








Tab Content - Two

Faculty and Staff

 FACULTY 



STAFF
Dr. Hazel Linton

  Chair, Professor 

lintonh@uapb.edu

 (870) 575-8056 
Dr. Linda Joshua

    Professor

   joshual@uapb.edu     (870) 575-8246
Ms. Mitzy Allen Administrative Specialist II

      allenm@uapb.edu

        (870) 575-8989 
 Dr. Vera Lang-Brown

 Associate Professor    

langbrownv@uapb.edu

       (870) 575-8275
Dr. Bettye Wright

Assistant Professor

wrightb@uapb.edu

   (870) 575-8244
 Ms. Holly Sutton

Administrative Specialist III

 humphreyh@uapb.edu

   (870) 575-8058
 Dr. Glenda Kennedy

Professor

kennedyg@uapb.edu

(870) 575-8247
Dr. Shelbie Anderson

Professor    

andersons@uapb.edu

   (870) 575-8242
 Ms. Willie Mae Nesby 

Fieldwork Coordinator

nesbyw@uapb.edu

(870) 575-8742

Tab Content - Three

Courses & Books

Course Descriptions for the Curriculum and Instruction Courses

Teacher Education Preparation Courses

Rehabilitative Services

Spring Books 2015


Text Book Companies

Tab Content - Six

Form

 
 

Area(s) of Interest:*








Questions/Comments: